March 9th: Week in Review

So here we are, trying to get back into the flow of blogging our weeks.  This one was pretty good.

We are on Oak Meadow’s Week 21, but decided to take two weeks for this one because Little Guy is really taking off on the reading front, and I wanted to focus on that.  I also wanted to spend some extra time on the seasons, since we are about to move into spring.

So, this week, we made a seasons tree with fingerprints….

007

…read books about spring, and things that start with the letter “P”….

001

did lots of fine motor work, utilizing some of our new therapy tools….like this bead sequencing set…

005

and this under-the-sea puzzle memory game…

004

and our new farm sticks to use for tong transfer/pincer grasp (very cool, since we do not like metal tongs.)

001

We also painted…001

spent time outside…

009

 

did a lot of drawing and writing…

 

 

002

and a whole lot of smiling.

006

 

022

I even managed a couple of (easy!) projects.  Here is one of our new Waldorf-inspired ribbon wands:

003

and these are the peg dolls I’m making for our upcoming weather study.  (And no, I’m not cool and crafty.  I have zero craft imagination.  Anything I make is pretty much copied exactly from Waldorf books or Pinterest finds. Speaking of which, Pinterest is an amazing source for school ideas.  My boards are here .)

002

Anyway….we did lots more…including a LOT of reading….for both me and Little Guy!  He is actually starting to read, and read me nearly an entire new-to-us “Biscuit” book yesterday.  So exciting!!

So that was our week.  Pretty good, all in all.  How was yours?

 

Published in: on March 9, 2013 at 5:46 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lovesimplicityandcoffee.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/march-9th-week-in-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It looks like a lovely week! I could see several of my younger children enjoying the peg dolls and ribbon wands. Hmmm, maybe I’ll give the materials to my older children as a project!

    • That’s a great idea, Tristan! They are both so easy and it would be so rewarding for the older kids. Hey, it’s rewarding for me! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

