Savory Coconut Flour Mini-Pancakes (GAPS-friendly)

So, I was prepping dinner last night, and realized I really wanted a bread element…and I did NOT want coconut flour biscuits or banana bread.  I wanted something truly savory.

Of course, since we are on GAPS, the only two flours we use are coconut flour and almond flour.  Coconut flour is what I currently have in the refrigerator.  It is a little hard to incorporate into savory recipes, because it tends to always taste…well..undeniably coconut-y.  Now, that is fine if you love coconut (which I do) and want a strong coconut flavor in your baked goods (which is really nice sometimes.)  But sometimes you just don’t want to taste coconut.  Fruit purees hide the flavor nicely in quick breads, and cheese does a good job in biscuits.  Herbs are a good option too.

I played around a little bit, and ended up coming up with this recipe.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take a picture, but at least I wrote down the recipe. I’m a bit new to this recipe-blogging thing.  I do a lot of recipe-less cooking/baking; but I virtually never write down recipes, and therefore never replicate my successes.  That is something I want to work on.

These little silver dollars are really quite good served with a dollop of homemade creme fraiche.  They are a nice substitute for rolls or for potato pancakes.  Even Hubby took one bite and said, “Wow!”   Hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

 

Savory Coconut Flour Mini-Pancakes

2 tbsp. cultured butter, melted

3/4 c. water

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 c. coconut flour

salt to taste

dash cayenne

1 1/2 tsp. parsley flakes

2 tsp. minced onions

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

cooking oil of choice

  1. Make sure your eggs are well-beaten.  Blend water into beaten eggs.
  2. Add melted butter to egg-and-water mixture.  Mix well.
  3. Add salt and other seasonings. 
  4. Slowly add coconut flour, beating as you add.  Mix well.
  5. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto well-greased frying pan.  Fry over medium heat until edges of pancakes begin to solidify.  Flip and fry briefly on the other side. 
  6. Serve immediately with butter and/or creme fraiche.

Published in: on August 26, 2012 at 5:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lovesimplicityandcoffee.wordpress.com/2012/08/26/savory-coconut-flour-mini-pancakes-gaps-friendly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment