Grain-free “Oatmeal” Raisin Cookies (GAPS-friendly)

IM000046.JPG

In my plans for Advent, I have been determined on one point: at least once a week (at least being the key words there), I will make a lovely, delicious, GAPS-friendly treat for the family to enjoy.  The Christmas season just isn’t the same without all the old favorite cookies and candies, and while some are impossible to replicate on GAPS, I’m determined to find or create recipes for as many as I can.

Good, chewy, old-fashioned oatmeal cookies are one of my favorite holiday-time treats.  But they are hard to replicate.  It’s a bit difficult to make a grain-free version of an–ahem–oatmeal cookie.  Today, though, I found myself craving cookies…and wanted to make a version I could share with everybody.  I researched some other recipes online and couldn’t find one that worked for me (pumpkin and sunflower seeds in an oatmeal raisin cookie just didn’t sound yummy to me, although I’m sure they work for some.)  So I created one.

This recipe really worked, for our family at least.  Everybody enjoyed them and immediately went for more.  The primary flour is almond flour, and I added some shredded coconut to help with the texture I love so much in real oatmeal cookies.  If you are dairy-free, you could easily substitute coconut oil for the butter.

Enjoy!

Grain-Free “Oatmeal” Raisin Cookies

3 farm-fresh eggs (mine were pretty big, probably extra-large)

1 stick salted butter, melted (I really like salted butter in oatmeal cookies.  You can use unsalted if you prefer.)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. almond extract

1/3 c. raw, local honey

Cinnamon to taste

2 c. almond flour

1/4 c. coconut flour

3/4 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

3/4 c. raisins

1. Combine first six ingredients and blend well.

2. Add almond flour and shredded coconut and mix.

3. Sift coconut flour and add to other ingredients.  Mix well to ensure that there are no lumps.  (Coconut flour lumps are YUCKY.  Trust me.)

4. Fold in raisins.

5. Grease a cookie sheet with a healthy oil.  Drop dough by generously rounded tablespoons onto cookie sheet.

6.  Flatten dough balls with a fork.  (Don’t forget this step! Cookies will not flatten on their own as they bake!)

7.  Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes, or until cookies begin to brown around the edges.

8. Allow to cool on pan for 1-2 minutes, then loosen with spatula.  Enjoy!

Cookie dough before flattening

Cookie dough before flattening

Published in: on December 4, 2012 at 3:05 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lovesimplicityandcoffee.wordpress.com/2012/12/04/grain-free-oatmeal-raisin-cookies-gaps-friendly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We tried the cookie recipe. Quite good and very easy to put together.

    • Good…I’m so glad they worked for you! 🙂

  2. I tried a variation on your recipe – subbing 2 tsp almond extract for the vanilla and almond combo, 1/2 cocoa for the cinnamon and dried cherries for the raisins. They turned out tasty as well.

  3. Heather…so glad they worked for you! That sounds fantastic…I think I’m going to have to try your variation!

  4. We made these this morning. Pretty tasty! We’ll make them again! Thanks for posting this recipe 🙂

  5. These were very tasty! Thank you for sharing this recipe 🙂


Leave a Reply

